Being INFP

Have you heard of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI)? I’ve always been interested in getting to know the human mind and myself so it’s not particularly surprising that when I took up Nursing, I excelled in Psychiatric Nursing. If you are interested in taking this test, you may do so online. All you need to do is to click THIS. Don’t worry, it will open in a new window.

 

Let me tell you more about MBTI. What is this all about? Basically, it is an introspective self-report questionnaire that has been designed to indicate psychological preferences in how people perceive the world and make decisions. It was created by Katherine Cook Briggs and her daughter Isabel Briggs Myers. The point of this test is to find out the specific preferences in the way we construe our experiences, interests, motivation, values, and needs. I first took this test out of curiosity since a lot of my Facebook friends are taking it and sharing it on their walls. I thought, “I’ll give this a try.”

And I’m really glad that I did. What was my result? I’m a proud INFP! πŸ˜‰

 

8.jpg

 

According to Myer-Briggs, there are 16 types of personalities that you could belong in. Interesting, right?

 

ANALYSTS

  • INTJ / “Architect”
  • INTP / “Logician”
  • ENTJ / “Commander”
  • ENTP / “Debater”

 

DIPLOMATS

  • INFJ / “Advocate”
  • INFP / “Mediator”
  • ENTJ / “Protagonist”
  • ENFP / “Campaigner”

 

SENTINELS

  • ISTJ / “Logistician”
  • ISFJ / “Defender”
  • ESTJ / “Executive”
  • ESFJ / “Consul”

 

EXPLORERS

  • ISTP / “Virtuoso”
  • ISFP / “Adventurer”
  • ESTP / “Entrepreneur”
  • ESFP / “Entertainer”

 

 

 

Reading the results of this test, I found out that I’m supposedly a true idealist and is always looking for the hint of good in even the worst of people and events, tirelessly searching for ways to make things better. I guess, that’s somehow true but I can’t deny that there are times when I feel like I’m really down in the dumps. INFPs are only 4% of the population. INFP stands for Introversion, intuition, feeling, and perception.Where are you my fellow INFPs? The result also says that when INFPs find like-minded people to spend their time with… There will be a fountain of joy and inspiration.

 

We are people who are guided by our principles more compared to logic, excitement, and practically. We look for honor, beauty, virtue, and morality. We are led by the purity of our intent and not by rewards and punishments.

 

I guess that sounds about right. I do focus on my intentions more than being rewarded, because the good feeling I get after doing something nice is reward enough. What other qualities do INFPs have?

 

  • We are able to communicate deeply with others.
  • Most INFPs are poets, writers, actors.
  • It is important for INFPs to understand themselves and the world around them.
  • Can easily learn a new language! (YAAAAAY!! FRENCH!)
  • INFPs tend to focus their attention and energy on a few people and causes.

 

Strengths and Weakness

Like everything else, INFPs also possess their own set of S & W or that’s Strength and Weaknesses.

What are an INFPs strengths?

  1. OPEN-MINDED AND FLEXIBLE.

    “Live and let live” is the motto. We don’t like to be contained by rules. This is true for me. I often let people do their own thing as long as it doesn’t affect me or people I care about in any negative way. I never liked the rules at school. We strongly stick to our principles and beliefs.

  2. VERY CREATIVE.

    I do sway more towards writing nowadays, but I also do painting and sketching. I can’t say I’m very good at it though. I just enjoy doing it and if people like it, then that’s great. πŸ˜€

  3. IDEALISTIC.

    We tend to believe that everyone is good. I believe this but I am also aware that environments and other life situations can also affect how a person acts. Sometimes people do bad things because they think that it will be beneficial to them or that they will be able to get away with it. Or that sometimes, they have no other choice but to do it, but yes, I don’t believe that people are intentionally cruel.

    Maybe I haven’t met the person who will sway me from this belief. Hopefully, I will never. LOL.

  4. Capable of deep loving and caring.
  5. Often have a good sense of humor πŸ˜‰
  6. Sensitive, perceptive, and highly intuitive.
  7. Excellent at reading people
  8. Loyal and committed.
  9. Seeks lifelong relationships.
  10. Often perfectionists
  11. Primary goal is to discover their meaning in life.
  12. Good listeners.
  13. Service-oriented. Hello Nursing! ❀
  14. Sincere and genuine

 

What are some of the INFP’s weaknesses?

 

  1. SOMETIMES WE GET TOO IDEALISTIC that we set ourselves up for disappointment again and again.
  2. IMPRACTICAL. The result says that when something captures our interest or imagination, we tend to neglect ourselves or day to day maintenance. This explains me not eating the whole day because I’m busy writing or painting. I must finish the task at hand before I do something else or I will feel like I’ll be out of my zone.
  3. TAKE THINGS PERSONALLY. Sadly this is true, but I’m trying to get over it and take things lightly. We want to satisfy people because we dislike conflicts and arguing, but let’s not forget to satisfy ourselves too.
  4. We tend to blame ourselves when things go wrong. Let us remember that it’s not always our fault. People make their own decisions and we can’t always control that.
  5. A strong need for encouragement or praise. LOL.
  6. We react with strong emotion when stressed or criticized.
  7. May stay in bad relationships!!!
  8. We need our own personal space. This frustrates me sometimes. I need my own creative, do-not-disturb-me room.
  9. Difficult to get to know. We are private individuals, reserved and very self-conscious. I’ve noticed that people don’t approach me most of the time. They say that I look unapproachable. Is it my resting BITCH face? I swear, it’s just my face. But yeah, sometimes I keep it on so people don’t talk to me because I’m not in the mood to interact and smile. Boo-hoo.

 

RELATIONSHIPS

 

We are in the pursuit of a perfect relationship (being perfectionists and all). I am so glad a had a “trial” relationship before meeting my husband. Okay, that was a little mean to call my first relationship a “trial” but that’s what it felt like. Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for it because it taught me what to do, what to expect, and how to act and interact with the male species. In my first relationship, I learned that no one is perfect and no one can keep you happy all the time. A boyfriend will not adore you 24/7. They will be angry at you when you cross the line and become a toxic person. Remember our weakness, INFPs, we tend to react strongly when we are stressed out. I’m so glad that I realized that no one was perfect, including myself, and that relationships require effort from both people. To survive, relationships require compromise from both sides, understanding, effort, respect, and love.

 

As you probably remember above, INFPs tend to focus their attention and efforts on a few person and causes so in a relationship, INFPs are very dedicated and all out. However, keep in mind that we aren’t in a rush to commit just because someone expresses interest in us. We need to be sure we have found someone we are truly compatible with (seeking lifelong relationship, y’all!). We have standards and an perceived ideal person. I’m so glad my husband was able to meet most of them.

 

What I like most about INFPs is that we tend to be understanding of other people, and it frustrates us if we don’t. My husband is an INFP too so it’s great. We understand each one’s need for space and a time to do what we love. He is very into competitive gaming. He flies to cities to compete while I am into my writing and arts. It’s great how we support each other. ❀ I usually buy him gaming related stuff while he gives me art related things.

“As a relationship takes hold, people with the INFP personality type will show themselves to be passionate, hopeless romantics, while still respecting their partners’ independence. INFPs take the time to understand those they care about, while at the same time helping them to learn, grow and change.” – 16personalities

I love being an INFP with an INFP. ❀

5e100530993ce5bb45d9edec577eca7e

 

FRIENDSHIP

 

The thing I like about being an INFP is that I really choose my friends. There was a time in high school when I wanted to be friends with a lot of people (Hello peer pressure and popularity!) but I soon realized that having a few genuine ones are the best than having a lot who aren’t really there for you anyway. We crave mutual human understanding but tire easily in social situations. For us, our friendship is earned not given. Just because we talk and interact with someone doesn’t immediately mean that they are our friend. We choose who we open up to.

I had some friends who didn’t understand my need to disappear for a while and stop interacting so our friendship ended. When I don’t want to go, I will not go. It would be great if you don’t take it personally since it’s probably because I’m just lazy or want to do something else. Now I’m stuck with people who understands that I also have a life and can’t meet up for a social gathering all of the time. It’s great! There’s no conflict now or resentments. I actually love it! πŸ™‚

 

AS PARENTS

 

Parenthood. We will all get there, but I think I’m getting there sooner since I’m already married. INFPs are warm and supportive. We will provide an established set of morals and principles to teach our kids but at the same time, we will also understand their need for their own space to explore.

 

We want harmony in the household so we may find it hard to establish rules.

 

IN CAREERS
My biggest problem now. I kind of know what I want to do, but at the same time, I don’t. It is hard for INFPs to find a career that’s satisfying to them. We just wish to do what we love without stress and rigor of professional life. Sounds about right!

 

It is advised that INFPs find a job that is filled with passion and dedication but comes with a training. Most INFPs are frustrated in their jobs, simply because it wasn’t meant for them. I know Nursing is somehow for me, but I’m still thinking of what field of Nursing I should be in. I can’t work in a ward because I’m too forgetful and untidy. I can’t deal with a lot of patients since I tend to lose focus and mess up in the process. I’m thinking of maybe in a special area with only one patient like the Intensive Care Unit or the Operating Room.

 

But at the same time, I also want to pursue something creative which is writing. It has been my dream of publishing a book but of course, that’s a little hard to do. So aside from Nursing, I also do freelance writing. Thankfully, I earn from it. We love reading feedback from people who were inspired or helped through our work. Nursing gives me that and so does writing. We tend to put other people’s interest ahead of our own.

 

Nothing feels more rewarding than seeing someone get better because of our help.

 

“Among their colleagues, INFPs will feel freer to share their ideas, and while they may maintain some psychological distance, they will make every effort to be pleasant, friendly and supportive – so long as their coworkers reciprocate.” — 16Personalities

 

What do you think? Did you take the test? If you did, what was your result? Leave a comment below! I’m interested to know! ❀ Have a nice day!

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Being INFP

    1. Hi! At least we have the internet! HAHA. We don’t like going out anyway. πŸ˜‰ And don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll run into an INFP soon.

      Like

  1. Took the test twice and I am also a proud INFP! I never thought I’d see the day that a personality test would be so accurate about my junk drawer of a brain…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true! When I took the test and received my results, I felt like my personality/way of thinking was being read to me. =) How is it so accurate! Truly a wonder!

      Like

Leave a Reply

