As A Filipino –

It seems that our country is under a lot of scrutiny now because of President Duterte’s war against drugs. To be honest, I voted for him because I like his political will and the whole point of his campaign which was – and still is – to get rid of drugs in the country. As a nurse, I’ve seen first hand what drugs can do to a person. It isn’t pretty and it isn’t fun to look at.

“Why would you do this to yourself?” I would ask myself.

Coming from a middle class family, I completely understand the plight of the Filipinos who are backing him up. I understand the fear of walking alone at night or going home after 7 in the evening. There was once a time when I was almost drugged in a taxi but thank God, I was aware of what was happening to my body (slowly becoming numb) that made me get out of there ASAP. Just like Duterte, I would like to get rid of drugs and make sure that the country stays peaceful. I want to be able to head home knowing that I am going to arrive home unharmed and not raped by some random man behind a dumpster. I want my parents to have a peace of mind when I am out, knowing that I am safe. I want to have a peace of mind when I am out, knowing that my parents are safe and sound. As a normal citizen, I just want to live my life knowing that no harm will come to myself and my loved ones.

 

And yet, I also understand the stand of those who are against Duterte’s war on drugs. He did warn the country that if he gets elected, the war on drugs will be blood. Blood will flow. And yet, 16 million Filipinos still voted for him.

 

I am upset because there are some organizations who only speak up when a criminal is killed but when that criminal killed or raped an innocent, they aren’t around. It’s like they don’t exist. I understand that every life matters. After all, I am a Nurse and I made an oath to save lives. But, I am also tired of living in fear, walking in fear, and reading about innocent lives wasted because of some drug addict who didn’t know what he or she was doing. I am tired of hearing about 6 month old babies being raped and molested by their fathers or uncles or grandfathers because they were high on drugs and weren’t aware of what they were doing. I am tired of hearing about a happy family who were suddenly murdered because a drug addict or a criminal decided to rob their home.

 

I wish to protect the innocent and that’s why I voted for President Duterte. There will be some who will not understand my stand, but if you live near a squatters area and you have to be on your guard every day, then maybe you will understand. If you were almost drugged and raped in a taxi cab in board daylight, then maybe you will understand. I want the government to be successful in their war against drugs. I want to be able to instill the fear of the law back into the hearts of my fellow country men. Duterte is a human being so we can’t expect him to be perfect. He is old. He is supposed to be retired but he is working hard to make the lives of everyone better in the Philippines, so I hope instead of looking at his negative side, let’s look at the positive side instead. Now that Duterte is the president, I must say that I feel a lot safer and more at peace knowing that someone is working hard to make my country safe to live in.

Leave a Reply

